Author Topic: Baptism - St Peter's Church, St John Street Road  (Read 4697 times)

Offline pasdlm

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Baptism - St Peter's Church, St John Street Road
« on: Wednesday 12 January 11 12:15 GMT (UK) »
One of my ancestors, William Munday, MAY have been christened at St Peter's. Not found in the IGI and it does not appear as if this church is covered in the IGI.
He was born about 1819/20 in Clerkenwell and censuses give birthplace as St John Street Road. His father was Thomas. Nothing else to help.
Younger siblings (probably from the first wife) were christened at Providence Chapel, St Marylebone - a nonconformist Wesleyan church.
So, if not Peter's, he might have been christened in another nonconformist church. If, as I suspect, William was born from second wife, I have no knowledge of marriage or name of the wife.

So starting with St Peter's - does anyone know how I could search for this baptism without travelling all the way from Scotland to London?

pasdlm
Munday - Middlesex/London and Wiltshire. Australia. South Africa.
Keenes - Middlesex/Essex
Jones - Middlesex and Shropshire
Clenshaw - London

Offline t mo

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Baptism - St Peter's Church, St John Street Road
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 12 January 11 14:05 GMT (UK) »
hello there
i,ve just had a look in the non conformist records on the genealogist site and the nearest baptism to your timeline is 1814 with a fathers name of valentine , there, s not another one till 1828  both of these are for london districts .
also looked on ancestry and the only william i could see with a fathers name of thomas was 1822 in guildford
trevor
morters-cambs-norfolk   clements london    copas newington
went colchester essex    goodey essex -suffolk

Offline Valda

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 12 January 11 14:17 GMT (UK) »
Hi

So this man