Author Topic: Missing from a census  (Read 1948 times)

Offline newbie

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Missing from a census
« on: Monday 07 June 04 17:38 BST (UK) »
"Hi all beginners,
                        Questions please, or if you are not a beginner then ask anyway."
Okay then kevan and everyone,
I'm fairly new to this (just a couple of months now), haven't read a book or anything but hey ho, have used the internet, found lots of sites, and information aimed at beginners - I've read everything I've found. I've also joined local FHS, and have found the local Record Office - the staff are brilliant very helpful but I've only used the GRO indexes. I am enrolling on a course for Family History but it isn't until the Autumn and I want to start now! Yes we don't want to appear too stupid or ask inane questions or repeat questions that have been asked before but.. even searching through sites such as these sometimes we just can't find the answer. I have recently posted a couple of enquiries one specifically asking for advice with regard to the census 1901, I can't find someone who should be there but haven't yet received any specific advice, one responder did check for me(thank you Moscan) .  I realise that the 1901 census site is a pay per view site which I'm happy to do just need to know how!
So my question : what or how can you find someone on the census who should be with their family but isn't (age 8), any tips? I've tried similar names - the name is Mallard, so have tried Mullard, Millard.  Have tried just putting in first name and age and district.  What methodology do you recommend?