Author Topic: Dainty Family  (Read 4619 times)

Offline alblol

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Dainty Family
« on: Sunday 17 April 11 16:38 BST (UK) »
Hello,  I am new to the rootschat so please forgive me (and correct me) if I do something in error.
SC thanks for giving me some instruction on how to get started.

I am hoping that I can get some help with the Dainty family of Northamptonshire.  I have quite a bit of information regarding census data etc., but I am hoping that someone can help out with reading between the line and between the census's.

For the 3 generations I have found it appears the Dainty family were very sucessful farmers.  Holding large parcels of land and employing quite a few men and boys as well as having domestic servants in the home.

My man interest is with John William Dainty, born about 1867 in Horne, Rutland, Northhamptonshire as he ties into our family as my grandmothers first husband.

Here is what I know.  He lived at home with his parents John Dainty and Louisa Bains.  They owned a 500 acre farm
In 1867 John William married Edith Mary Grimley.  On the 1891 & 1901 census he is listed as a farm bailiff/employer.  In 1901 they have 5 children and 3 servants.  I do not know the size of the farm, but expect it is a decent size based on the rest of the family.

Now comes the turn and where my questions come.
the 1911 census has John William living away from his wife and children. He is employed as a groom on a farm in Alfredton Derbyshire.  His wife and children area living in Mansfield Nottinghamshire.
Does any know what happened between 1901 and 1911 which caused John William to lose his farm?  How could I look into this?