Author Topic: ScotlandsPeople centre or the Mitchell library?  (Read 6319 times)

Offline lunalovegood

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
ScotlandsPeople centre or the Mitchell library?
« on: Sunday 08 May 11 16:01 BST (UK) »
I'm fairly new to family history research and I've achieved quite a lot using the ScotlandsPeople website. It's so easy to spend £7 on credits and use it up in a flash, so I would rather pay £15 for a whole day's research at either the ScotlandsPeople centre or the Mitchell library. I'm wondering which is the better option, as I'm a lot closer to Glasgow than Edinburgh, but it wouldn't be a problem to make the trip to Edinburgh if the facilities are better there. At this stage, I'm really only interested in BMDs, census records, OPR and Catholic church records. The Mitchell website says that you can search the digitised images for all these records (excluding the Catholic ones and 1911 census?) in their Registars Genealogy Centre - is the search facility as straightforward as the SP website? Also, are you allowed to save images to USB stick, as you are at the SP centre (for a 50p charge)?

Offline GR2

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: ScotlandsPeople centre or the Mitchell library?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 08 May 11 16:20 BST (UK) »