Author Topic: GEDCOM conversions to V 5.5  (Read 7549 times)

Offline anydm

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
GEDCOM conversions to V 5.5
« on: Sunday 10 July 11 09:15 BST (UK) »
Hello,
I'm new to the site but would appreciate some help from your experts on gedcom files. I have been researching my f/h for many years but have been 'dormant' for the last few. A lot of my old data was stored on a hard disk in my old computer which I have been able to now retrieve. It was originally saved using 'PersonalRoots' software issued by a company called Expert Software. When I try to now open the file as a gedcom import using Family Tree Maker 2008, I get an error message saying 'GEDCOM File must be version 5.5 or greater'. The original (Personal Roots) software was dated around 1994 so I presume the export utility uses a version of gedcom from around the same era. Is there a way of converting the gedcom export into the later version to allow Family Tree Maker to read it? I hope someone out there can help!! (PS I'm not very computer savy, so dont be afraid to spell it out in words of one syllable!)

Many thanks

Offline DudleyWinchurch

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: GEDCOM conversions to V 5.5
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 10 July 11 10:01 BST (UK) »
Have you tried opening it in PAF, which is free from the FamilySearch site?  You may need to follow the link to the "old site"

[PS sorry, had not noticed this is your first post- wlecome to RootsChat.  Reference for FamilySearch is:www.FamilySearch.org]
McDonough, Oliver, McLoughlin, O'Brien, Cuthbert, Keegan, Quirk(e), O'Malley, McGuirk (Ireland)
Dudley, Winchurch, Wolverson, Brookes (Black Country)
Concannon, Moore, Markowski (Markesky), Mottram, Lawton (Black Country)

Offline jds1949

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 10 July 11 10:34 BST (UK) »