Author Topic: Family tree Help  (Read 2007 times)

Offline joesephmartyn

• I am sorry but my emails are no longer working
  • RootsChat Extra
  • Always looking out for snippets of information
    • View Profile
Family tree Help
« on: Tuesday 15 June 04 17:32 BST (UK) »
Hello everyone

I'm new to all this and would appreciate any help, no matter how small.... ;)

OK first surname on my list is Simenton (No surnames now exist in uk) my nan Annie Witney 1918-2002, born Wandsworth, London (Simenton was the last in the line)  had sisters gladgy (Eaton) Masey(clever) mary (thompson) her dads name was Albert E Simenton, mothers name unkown?? I am now at a loss...

Secondly Henry James Witney 1911 - 1970 born Chinnor, fathers name James William Witney, married to Sarah Elizabeth Croxford, c1884?? The owned a public house in Knowl hill later parts of there lives 1960's called the Queens Head. Can anyone shed any light on James or Sarahs brothers and sisters or even there paretns !!...

Thirdly Betty Hopgood 1909-1979(Oxofrdshire) had three sisters, gladys,  lilian and Alice, brothers name unknown. We have no other family history going back.....can anyone help....

I have tried the different census info available and fear a trip to Kew will be my ne3xt option... If you can help I would be eternally in your debt...

Thank you in advance and wait in anticipation.
Jex, Witney, Croxford, Cook, Hopgood, Montgomery, webb, Brown, Britnell, Boys

Offline Gardener

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re:Family tree Help
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 15 June 04 18:52 BST (UK) »
Hi! I always found the first step backwards hardest and only managed it by buying a certificate or two (or actually a few more cos my Mum insisted on "getting the set"!).
I found the birth of an Albert Simenton which could be yours if he married young...
Simenton, Albert Edward 1902 September Births London Surrey 1d 550