Author Topic: Help anyone please!!  (Read 5149 times)

Offline dunkmac74

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Help anyone please!!
« on: Monday 10 October 11 19:26 BST (UK) »
Hi all
Im posting on here so i hope its the right place to put this thread!
Ive been tracing my ancestors now for a few years and have hit a complete brick wall and im hoping someone may be able to help me please
My surname is McDonald also originally spelt as MacDonald so ive been tracing my 5x Great Grandfather to try and discover where he may of come from,his name was Denis McDonald he married a Cornish lady in 1809 in Newlyn Cornwall on the marriage banns it states Denis MacDonald sojurner but on closer inspection it may say soldier?Im wondering if the first name Denis is of Irish origin?Before the marriage theres no record of Denis in Cornwall and family rumour says he came over from Ireland due to the close proximity to Cornwall,also a Denis McDonald from Dublin has been found with the same age etc as Denis who was a soldier from Dublin,the only thing i have of his is christening spoons passed down from father to son which my Dad has which have the inscription "what we have we hold" written down the handles Not sure what that might mean? Ive been unable to trace Denis at all after the birth of his son and daughter which was in 1812 he either did a bunk or may of been killed at sea,i do apologise for the length of the Thread! im just curious if anyone knows if Denis would be more a Irish surname then say a Scottish one at least then i can say 75 per cent sure he was originally from Ireland when ever a stranger asked me if my Ancestors were Scottish or Irish which has been the case for my Dad whos 70 and me for the last 37 years! Any help or advice would be really really appreciated
 many thanks
  Dunc 

Offline Pejic

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Help anyone please!!