Author Topic: Johanna Flemming birth - Kilfinane  (Read 7237 times)

Offline benicio

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Johanna Flemming birth - Kilfinane
« on: Monday 17 October 11 19:19 BST (UK) »
Hello everyone -

I have located a reocrd of birth for Johanna Flemming, born to Thomas Flemming and Mary Kiely on 15 May 1869 in Kilfinane, Limerick, Ireland.  I would like to know if there is a resource which would allow me to view the actual document as familysearch.org and ancestry.com have a transcript, but not the actual doc.

I am interested because my Great Grandfather was Thomas Fleming and his wife was Mary Kiley.  The emigrated fro IRE to Connecticut, United States around 1870.  They had a daughter named Hannah who was born in IRE in (around) 1869 (according to the 1880 US census; Derby, Connecticut).  I believe this may be the same family. 

Up until this point, I have had no knowledge of where in Ireland they departed from and this is very exciting for me.  Thanks for any help you can provide.
Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Fleming - Knocklong, Kilfinane, Limerick
Kenney/Kenny - Keighley, Lawrence (MA, USA)

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Johanna Flemming birth - Kilfinane
« Reply #1 on: Monday 17 October 11 19:24 BST (UK) »
You'd need to order the certificate but I can tell you that Hannah is often used as a nickname for Johanna.
See here for full details on Irish birth certificates and how to order them:
http://www.rootschat.com/forum/index.php/topic,433041.0.html
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline benicio

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 18 October 11 18:22 BST (UK) »
Thanks for the posts/Pm's aghadowey & lumin - This site is always extremely helpful.

What I now know after obtaining the info from rootsireland.ie:

Johanna Flemming - Born on 15 - May 1869; Baptised 17 - May 1869.