Author Topic: 1901 Census Look-Up Offer  (Read 10217 times)

Offline Shaztoni

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
1901 Census Look-Up Offer
« on: Friday 13 May 05 17:36 BST (UK) »
I am willing to look up information on families from Limerick, it will be a lot easier if you have a parish or town land along with the names as the records are all on microfiche in the local library.
Sharon
This information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline lana

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: 1901 CENSUS LOOK-UP OFFER
« Reply #1 on: Monday 03 October 05 23:05 BST (UK) »
Hello, Sharon

Is your offer to do a look up in the 1901 census for Limerick still available?

I am new to research in Ireland.  I have had a little success with my husband's family but I have had a lot of help from kind people.

I would like to make some progress on my family.

I wondered if it were possible, or worthwhile, looking up my Great Grandfather, Patrick Joseph Morrissey/Morrisey.

He was apparently born 11 July 1888 possibly in Rathkeale, Limerick. He joined up in Tralee, Kerry on 11 October 1906 and went out to the East Indies in 1908. His trade had been listed as 'overseer'. What does this mean? Is it something to do with Workhouses? He lived in/travelled through the East Indies, Turkey, India, Mespot. and Burma. He died in Calcutta, India in 1940 still serving in the Army.
He married Eileen Mangan in 1915 in Rangoon. They had 8 Children. They came to England in 1948. I am interested in tracing Patrick Joseph Morrissey's parents, who according to his attestation papers were Thomas and Mary.

Patrick would have been 13 years old in 1901 so I presume may be living with his parents Thomas and Mary. 

Do you think it would be worthwhile to check the 1901 census and is there any other advise you can give me?

Look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Rachel ???