Author Topic: Grandfather At Portsmouth 1943  (Read 2598 times)

Offline Phodgetts

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Grandfather At Portsmouth 1943
« on: Monday 06 August 12 23:48 BST (UK) »
Could someone on this part of the forum please pass some comments on the uniform and the cap. My grandfather was based in Portsmouth in 1943. I have no knowledge at all of his military career, so it would be very interesting to hear what you wise folk have to say. The only reason I know it was Portsmouth and the date, is because that is what is written on the back of the photo.

http://www.rootschat.com/forum/index.php/topic,609738.0.html

Philip
Northumberland; Johnson, Johnston, Dodds, Rutherford, Gray, Kennedy, Wilson, Sanderson, Davidson and other Border Marauders as they are discovered on this journey.
Berkshire; Knight, Bristor, Sharpe, Sharp, Ashley.
Suffolk / Essex; Perce, Pearce, Pearse, Pierce, Hayes.
Midlands; Hodgetts, Parker, Easthope.

Offline macintosh

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Grandfather At Portsmouth 1943
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 07 August 12 08:54 BST (UK) »
It looks like he has the cap badge of a Fusilier Regiment, It is difficult to determine which one as the detail is missing, His formation sign on his left arm resembles  the "Y" of the 5th Infantry Division but again this is only conjecture as the detail is missing.

Is there not someone in the family who may have his medals or any other documents, Did he survive the war? If he didn't  have you  checked his name with the CWGC site?  Perhaps others in the family may have other photos of him or information that may be the key to his Regiment etc,

There seems to be something on his right arm, perhaps it is chevrons, corporal perhaps.

Regards

James

Offline Phodgetts

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 07 August 12 11:03 BST (UK) »