Author Topic: Advice please  (Read 3119 times)

Offline Seoras

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • GG gf Robert. Born Ireland 1865. Died USA 1941.
    • View Profile
Advice please
« on: Sunday 30 September 12 02:53 BST (UK) »
After two years of research in Scotland I am turning my attention to my Irish ancestry.Now I may have asked about this before when I was a newbie,if so forgive me for repeating.

IGI has a birth for a McKeown male to John McKeown and Matilda Skelton 10th August 1865, Coalisland, County Tyrone.I know from other documents and a very detailed obituary that this is my GG grandfather Robert McEwan (the spelling changed once his parents moved to Scotland). What I would like to know is if it's on IGI, there must be some document registering his birth somewhere,where would I go to find it.

Also is there any way I can track back further.John McKeown/McEwan's parents were James McKeown (a farmer) and Jane Carson.Matilda Skelton's parents were James Skelton (also a farmer) and Anabella Carson.Whether these two Carson girls were related, I have know way of knowing at present.

Any advice on where to go next would be much apreciated.
SCOTLAND: Wardlaw Steen/Stein Tweedie McBride McEwan Pate/Peat Brown Somerville Bishop Farier/Ferrier Wood  Torrance Gibb Ross Dunlop Downs Richardson Ramsey Story Snaddon/Sneddon Auld Allan McLean McInnes Mason Law Lawson Kerr Cockburn Christie Ballingall Wardrope Weir Wallace Scott.
IRELAND: Welsh Clifford Lee Allingham Keane Dale Robinson Greer McVey Bingham Skelton Carson Broomfield Clark McEwan/McKeown McCreary McLaughlan.
YORKSHIRE: Cudworth Smith Cope Coulton Hainsworth

Offline gortonboy

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Gorton
    • View Profile
Re: Advice please
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 30 September 12 04:01 BST (UK) »
hi,,you say Johns father was called James...i can see this marriage record where his father is given as William? unless we have 2 John McKeowns marrying 2 Matilda Skeltons.  ;)