Author Topic: Sarah Ann Dolby  (Read 9665 times)

Offline daisycat

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Sarah Ann Dolby
« on: Thursday 15 November 12 07:27 GMT (UK) »
I am looking for information on Sarah Ann Dolby. She was in a relationship with Edward Nucella Emmett, (who married Sarah Spottiswood in 1949 and moved to Bendigo Victoria in 1852, founding the Bendigo Bank) which produced three children in Adelaide, Australia in 1840's. I believe she was born in Threadneedle, London in abt. 1827. She ended up in Adelaide, dying in New Parkside. Her children were Sarah Edith Dolby Emmett, Mary Dolby Emmett and Edward Nucella Dolby Emmett, all born in the Adelaide area.
Mary Dolby Emmett was my grandfather's grandmother.
I have the following questions. If anybody could help with any one of these questions that would be great, also any other information. I am a beginner on this site and am not even sure which country this website is in. I am in Australia.

1. Was she a convict?
2. Who were her parents.
3. When did she arrive? What was the name of the ship and what is a good website to get this info?
4. Did she have any siblings?
5. Did she ever marry? I don't think she did because she was referred to as "Mrs Emmett" in her death notice (trove.com). 1899
6. What happened to her after E.N. Emmett left her? I have found one reference to Jane Dolby lining up for destitute relief, having three children by Emmett. But that is Jane, not Sarah.
7. Was her father or mother a convict.

Offline lizdb

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Sarah Ann Dolby
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 15 November 12 07:58 GMT (UK) »
A possible?  -

Christening
St Giles without Cripplegate

29 Dec 1822
Sarah Ann Dolby

Parents John and Ann of London Wall, occ lace maker
Edmonds/Edmunds - mainly Sussex
DeBoo - London
Green - Suffolk
Parker - Sussex
Kemp - Essex
Farrington - Essex
Boniface - West Sussex