Author Topic: 13 Wardlaw Place, Edinburgh  (Read 2057 times)

Offline Moscatella

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
13 Wardlaw Place, Edinburgh
« on: Tuesday 18 December 12 23:46 GMT (UK) »
I'm really hoping someone can help me identify which area of Edinburgh Wardlaw Place was in in 1901 and 1911 as I'm trying to track down my relative Robert Douglas b.1872 in Newington, Edinburgh who was a Mason by trade. It could be him living at 13 Wardlaw Place in 1901 with wife Lizzie and children Catherine, George and Marjory but I cannot pin them down in 1911. There are pèople with these names and about the right age in Edinburgh in 1911 but they all seem to be in different parts of the city, so I'm stumped.  :( :-\ 

Offline Unë kthimi i papenduar

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: 13 Wardlaw Place, Edinburgh
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 19 December 12 08:28 GMT (UK) »
Wardlaw Place is in the Gorgie area - however have you tried searching in ENGLAND for the 1911 census - eg Chorlton Lancs

Offline Moscatella

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 19 December 12 13:09 GMT (UK) »
Thanks for the tip, but the Robert Douglas with that dob living in Chorlton was born in Dumfries and a dock labourer, so not my relative. I googled Wardlaw Place and came up with Gorgie but there's no such area for Edinburgh on SP - do you know what Gorgie would come under in 1911?

Offline Hibee

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Adamsrow, 1914
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday 19 December 12 13:36 GMT (UK) »
Hi Linda

The District number was 685, if that helps.  The population of the street in 1911 was 173.

Census districts do not correspond to BMD districts.

Hibee
Midlothian: Adam(s), Meikle/Muckle
Leith: Bridges
Edinburgh: Brown
Prestonpans: Bird, Inglis
Fife: Wemyss
Orkney: Brock
Ireland: Sweeney

Offline Moscatella

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile