Author Topic: Alexander Paterson  (Read 4762 times)

Offline ashleaze

• RootsChat Extra
  • Mum! Stop looking at dead people!
    • View Profile
Alexander Paterson
« on: Friday 29 March 13 10:30 GMT (UK) »
Hi

I am new to rootschat.  My brick wall is my 2nd gt grandfather.  I am interested in the birth of Alexander Paterson.  I know from his Chelsea Pension Record that he was a coach painter born in the parish of Stirling.  He signed up for the Royal Engineers on the 25th September 1846 at Glasgow.  After leaving the RE, he lived in South London and from census docs he was born around 1825.  His trade was always as a painter after leaving the RE.  An oddity is in the 1851 census where his birth place is given as Barony and his trade is a stonecutter.  This is whilst he was in the RE and based at Woolwich Barracks.  His marriage gives his fathers name as Charles.  However many searches on scotlandspeople have not located any birth documents.

Searching recently I have made contact with a couple of people who have a possible Charles, his wife and their daughters but there does not appear to be anything linking Alexander to them apart from this is the only Charles they can find in Stirling.  This Charles only appears on the 1841 census. 

I would be grateful for any suggestions as to where to look next.

Thanks

Ash
S.
xxx

Offline Annette7

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Alexander Paterson
« Reply #1 on: Friday 29 March 13 12:02 GMT (UK) »
There are 2 entries on the 1851 Census - one is the one you mention who is clearly someone else and the other is your man who is shown as a coach painter and born 'Sterling' (ref. HO107 - 1589 - 438 - 12).

Annette
Scopes (One-Name Study - Worldwide)
Suffolk - Grist, Knights, Bullenthorpe, Watcham
Scotland - Spence, Horne, Cowan, Moffat
London -  Monk

Don't walk behind me, I may not lead.   Don't walk in front of me, I may not follow.   Just walk beside me and be my friend.