Author Topic: Spout Houses/Spout House Farm - Haslingden  (Read 6656 times)

Offline emjay1401

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Spout Houses/Spout House Farm - Haslingden
« on: Monday 29 April 13 15:39 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone!

I am new to all this (i.e. I have no idea how to do anything!!!).

Last year I moved into Spout House Farm off Cribden End Lane, Haslingden.  I believe the house was originally one dwelling but is now 3 separate private dwellings (numbers 1, 2 & 3).  I am also lead to believe that the building was at one time a coaching house.  I have no evidence of this and don't know if this is true.  The property is known as Spout Houses or Spout House Farm (it is no longer a working farm).

Basically I am trying to find out as much information on the house as possible as Google searches seem to come up with nothing.  The house is apparently 300-400 years old.

The main reason for trying to find some information is simply that my partner and I love the feel of the house and we believe there to be a ghost or 2!  We always hear unexplained noises and wehave heard a deep voice plus a bum has been pinched!  None of this has felt scary or threatening and there is a lovely atmosphere in the house (although at night it can feel a little creepy!).

We have asked the neighbours and they too have experienced strange happenings and they have been there almost 40 years.  Yet there seems to be no information readily available about the property.

Any help would be really appreciated and I would dearly love to see any old pictures of the property!

Offline stanmapstone

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Spout Houses/Spout House Farm - Haslingden
« Reply #1 on: Monday 29 April 13 17:01 BST (UK) »
Welcome to RootsChat
You can see Spout House on the 1893 map at http://www.old-maps.co.uk/maps.html?coords=379373,423430

Stan