Author Topic: Immigration to UK  (Read 1053 times)

Offline Erinmede

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Immigration to UK
« on: Saturday 12 April 14 15:34 BST (UK) »
I'm very new to this and not sure what I'm doing and apologise if my posting is in the wrong place.
Can anyone tell me if there were any immigration records for the UK from Europe between the mid 1700's to the early 1800's please?

Offline *Sandra*

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Marie Curie
    • View Profile
Re: Immigration to UK
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 12 April 14 15:51 BST (UK) »
Hi,

Welcome to Rootschat

Unfortunately there were no passenger lists from the UK to Europe.

Regards
Sandra
"We search for information, but the burden of proof is always with the thread owner"

Census information is Crown Copyright  http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

British Census copyright The National Archives; Canadian Census copyright Library and Archives Canada

Offline Erinmede

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 13 April 14 01:03 BST (UK) »
Thank you Sandra for the info. I've a feeling I'm about to hit a brick wall on this one.

Offline jorose

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sunday 13 April 14 10:05 BST (UK) »
There are some "alien entry books" for the earlier years:
http://nationalarchives.gov.uk/records/looking-for-person/immigrants.htm

Don't expect much more than name (possibly first name just initialled), occupation, and a location (quite often something like just "Germany" which isn't that helpful!)
Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Erinmede

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Tuesday 15 April 14 01:18 BST (UK) »