Author Topic: How to research question  (Read 1050 times)

Offline LandD

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
How to research question
« on: Monday 28 April 14 17:40 BST (UK) »
I am just learning how to research and am hoping someone can point me in the proper direction for these two inquiries:

1) I am wondering how to find either newspaper coverage or a police report on the accidental death of Mary Ann Cooper Yeats Rennie. She was hit by a cab, and died on March 28th 1900 at the Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh. There was a Report of Precognition registered on May 8th, 1900 in the Registrar of Corrected Entries Vol 13, p 98 concerning her death.
What we are trying to find out is who the cab driver was.
One of our relatives, John Stannard, was a coachman, and he later adopted Mary's orphaned child.
So the question is - can I research newspaper records of the 1900 period without subscribing to a service?

2) Family oral tradition holds that one of two relatives was a Postilion on the Royal carriages when the royal family was residing in Balmoral Castle. The two coachmen in question are Alfred Stannard, (living in Edinburgh between 1866 and 1907) and John Stannard, (b1858 - died 1909).
Is there any way to check lists of employees of Balmoral Castle of this time period?
I realize this may be a totally fanciful speculation, but at least my aunt didn't believe they were mice turned into coachmen until midnight...

I appreciate the invaluable help I have received through this forum.
LandD

Offline GR2

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: How to research question
« Reply #1 on: Monday 28 April 14 18:12 BST (UK) »
I'm sure there is a site which gives details of royal servants. You could probably find it by using the search facility on this site as people have asked this question before.

Edinburgh Evening News Thurs. 29/3/1900

The Union Place Accident. - The woman, Mary