Author Topic: Reading documents  (Read 5452 times)

Offline jettejjane

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Dad - 9 times Mayor of Arundel
    • View Profile
Reading documents
« on: Friday 23 May 14 14:14 BST (UK) »
Can someone help please. Not sure if I am in right place.

I have a copy of a land registry doc and need someone to read the  hand writing but not sure how to attached the doc.  Can I do it as pdf?  I am not very good with computers so any instructions will have to be simple please.
Redman, Jupp, Brockhurst of West Sussex
Moore County Down. Redman of Posey, Indiana, USA Emigrated 1820

Offline Billyblue

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Reading documents
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 24 May 14 08:29 BST (UK) »
You can attach a pdf document but be careful, concerning putting it all up, because of copyright restrictions.

Best to do it in bits, probably.

Dawn M
Denys (France); Rossier/Rousseau (Switzerland); Montgomery (Antrim, IRL & North Sydney NSW);  Finn (Co.Carlow, IRL & NSW); Wilson (Leicestershire & NSW); Blue (Sydney NSW); Fisher & Barrago & Harrington(all Tipperary, IRL)

Offline jettejjane

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 24 May 14 11:55 BST (UK) »
Thanks Dawn, will try copying  just the handwriting I can't read.

Moving on you mention copyright, I am putting my research into book form for children. They not interested at moment but who knows in the future. Would I be able to use, census, birth death and marriage certs? I have originals that have been handed down and they are all my immediate family. It would not be for 're-sale.

You have got me thinking now.

Jane

Offline Billyblue

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sunday 25 May 14 09:40 BST (UK) »
Well, I see you are in the UK and I'm not sufficiently 'up' on UK Copyright law to advise.