Author Topic: Pte Thomas Hewson The Kings (Liverpool) Regiment, Labour Corp  (Read 4023 times)

Offline Bobbi.T

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Pte Thomas Hewson The Kings (Liverpool) Regiment, Labour Corp
« on: Monday 04 August 14 12:56 BST (UK) »
Hi
I'm hoping someone can please help me find more information about my grandfather who served in the above regiment. From the Brit Army WW! Medal Rolls Index Card 1914-1920 I have established his Regtl.No was 4469 600118. He received Victory & British medals under Roll L/O 101B229  Page 23267

I am not very experienced in genealogy & have searched the internet but cant seem to find anything about him or what he actually did. I would love to know details about his army life or in fact anything about him.

I would appreciate it if anyone can help me find out more about my granddad who died in 1948 in Liverpool, or point me in the right direction.

Thank you.  :)

Offline Spidermonkey

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • https://www.apigintime.net/blog
    • View Profile
Re: Pte Thomas Hewson The Kings (Liverpool) Regiment, Labour Corp
« Reply #1 on: Monday 04 August 14 13:11 BST (UK) »
Hi Bobbi.T, welcome to Rootschat!!!

Did your grandfather die in the Crosby registration district of Merseyside? http://www.ukbmd.org.uk/genuki/reg/districts/crosby.html  If so, the death index gives an approximate date of birth as 1886, with him being aged 62 when he died. 

Does this sound accurate to you?  Just want to check that we are on the right chap!

Offline Spidermonkey

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 04 August 14 13:23 BST (UK) »
This will give you some more information about The King's Regiment http://www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk/mol/visit/galleries/soldiers/research/index.aspx

Offline Spidermonkey

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Monday 04 August 14 13:27 BST (UK) »