Author Topic: French birth records  (Read 1269 times)

Offline Flouncylicious

• RootsChat Senior
  • Dora Kent Nee Waterfield
    • View Profile
French birth records
« on: Thursday 25 September 14 15:37 BST (UK) »
I am looking to find some information on Joseph Adolphe Emile Derouet, who was born c.1881 in Havre France and possibly came to the UK in 1901/2. I have tried to find the best resource for this and am not getting anywhere as I have no experience of French records. Can anyone assist with this please, or point me in the direction of the best resource.

Many thanks in advance.
Kent Thompson Gazzard Cunnington Tunmer Sheldrake Miller Waterfield Furneaux Granshaw Priddie Ward Belson Towell Newton

Offline Jed59

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: French birth records
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 25 September 14 15:52 BST (UK) »
Luckily its over 100 years sinceJoseph was born; less than that you'd have to prove direct descendancy
Records are kept in the local "mairie"  or twon hall, and every year copies deposited at local magistrates court. and exactly 100 years after the event, archived with the department (county)

http://genealogy.about.com/library/weekly/aa070700b.htm?terms=22civil+register%22

www.genealand.com       

www.guide-genealogie.com                 

hope that helps

Jed

Offline Flouncylicious

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 25 September 14 16:00 BST (UK) »
Thanks Jed, I shall go have a look  ;D
Kent Thompson Gazzard Cunnington Tunmer Sheldrake Miller Waterfield Furneaux Granshaw Priddie Ward Belson Towell Newton

Online jorose

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Thursday 25 September 14 17:56 BST (UK) »
The best place to look for records online are the departmental archives (in a few cases with large cities, the municipal archive).  In this case we need Seine-Maritime.
http://www.archivesdepartementales76.net/rechercher/archives-en-ligne/