Author Topic: Thomas Holt, born Blackburn 1793 - 82nd Foot, 2nd Battalion  (Read 1036 times)

Offline snooziflooze

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Thomas Holt, born Blackburn 1793 - 82nd Foot, 2nd Battalion
« on: Monday 06 October 14 20:05 BST (UK) »
I'm interested in this chap as I think he is my ggggrandfather on my mother's side.  The entry on Ancestry describes him as a weaver by trade, 5 ft 6in, swarthy complexion, dark brown hair and brown eyes.  Just my kind of guy!  ;D

Any information about what he was up to in this regiment and where they went would be gratefully received.  He seems to join up on 4th May 1811 aged 18.  The title of the series is Canada British Regimental Registers of service 1756 - 1900.

Many thanks in advance.

Offline km1971

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Thomas Holt, born Blackburn 1793 - 82nd Foot, 2nd Battalion
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 07 October 14 00:27 BST (UK) »
Can you post the link to his Ancestry entry.

He does not appear to have served long enough to earn a pension - so his service record has not survived. In this period Regulars signed up for life, but they introduced 7-year limited service (without a pension) for the war against France and the USA. You may have to follow his service using the musters. They are in the National Archives, and not online.

The 2nd Battalion 82nd Foot stayed in England, so he must have been transferred to the 1st Bn who served in Canada in 1814. If he was still alive in 1847 he may have received a medal for the Peninsular/USA. I will check the rolls later.

Ken

Offline snooziflooze

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 07 October 14 15:42 BST (UK) »