Author Topic: Wribbenhall seeking information  (Read 4965 times)

Offline mirrin

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Wribbenhall seeking information
« on: Sunday 30 November 14 09:54 GMT (UK) »
Searching my family tree takes me to the Millward family.  In the 1841 census Abraham is a gardener and works at Wribbenhall, Kidderminster Foreign, Kidderminster, Worcestershire.  I have no knowledge of the area and I have also tried to search for Wribbenhall.  Can anyone help.

Thanks 

Online KGarrad

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Wribben Hall seeking information
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 30 November 14 09:57 GMT (UK) »
There is no space in the middle! It's all one word ;D

WRIBBENHALL, a chapelry in Kidderminster parish, Worcester; at Bewdley r. station, within Bewdley borough, and communicating with Bewdley town by a bridge across the Severn.
Garrad (Suffolk, Essex, Somerset), Crocker (Somerset), Vanstone (Devon, Jersey), Sims (Wiltshire), Bridger (Kent)

Offline Yegvard

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Wribben Hall seeking information
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 30 November 14 10:38 GMT (UK) »
Hi,

You are about to enter a minefield!  Take care. There are bucket loads of MIL(L)WARDs around Worcestershire, with no consistent spelling.  In addition, to the FamilySearch website try FreeREG  http://www.freereg.org.uk/  Spelling is pedantic unless you have the Soundex box checked.  As Worcestershire is incomplete, I would advise to search just at county level at first, rather than adding a Place.  And don't forget that Kidderminster borders with Staffordshire, where there were many more of them.

Good look

Mike
HANDS, HANDES, HANNS, HANNES, HANNE, HANNON (Yardley to Bromsgrove)
 MIL(L)WARD, COTTERIL, CLULEE, IZOD, HASSALL, TODD, STRATTON, JAKEMAN, JENNINGS, MOLE, ALLCOCK PINFIELD north Worcestershire
WATERS, Thurzo, Sutherland> Bishopswearmouth, Durham
GARDNER, Solihull;