Author Topic: parish register ordering - advice required  (Read 3706 times)

Offline saxonie

• RootsChat Extra
  • I've not edited my PROFILE yet
    • View Profile
parish register ordering - advice required
« on: Monday 19 July 04 20:06 BST (UK) »
Hi,  :)

I am new to researching in Lincolnshire and would appreciate some guidance on how to order microfilm copies of parish registers.  At the moment I am interested in the parish of Bourne for christenings.

Sorry it's a basic question but help would be appreciated.

Thanking you.

Saxonie

Offline Sasha

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: parish register ordering - advice required
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 20 July 04 10:11 BST (UK) »
Hi Saxonie,

Welcome to research in Lincolnshire!

Do you mean photocopies of parish register entries or were you wanting copies of the microfilm/fiche itself?

Bourne library has a local/family history section and I would imagine has copies of the parish registers and census returns for the local area and would be able to supply photocopies of entries.  Their link is http://www.lincolnshire.gov.uk/libraryDetails.asp?library=SA2

Alternatively the Archives office in Lincoln holds records for the whole county.  They would also be able to supply photocopies of entries and I believe can also supply microfiche copies of the parish registers (though I would imagine this is quite expensive).  They are at http://www.lincolnshire.gov.uk/section.asp?docId=27403&catId=2053

If you're going to use the Archives office check this thread out (http://www.rootschat.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=6625.0) which thoroughly recommends their postal service.  I've used them myself (visited in person) and they are really helpful.

Sasha.  :)

Offline saxonie

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 20 July 04 10:48 BST (UK) »
Hi Sasha,