Author Topic: Mitchell Family - Leicestershire and Scotland  (Read 2759 times)

Offline alfietcs

• RootsChat Extra
  • The Gari Boys ( and girls! )
    • View Profile
Mitchell Family - Leicestershire and Scotland
« on: Friday 24 April 15 15:57 BST (UK) »
Hi :)
I am a total newbie, and this is my first (rather long) post, so I hope I have put this in the right place.
I have just recently begun to research my family history and so far have only been looking at census forms online. I've found some links to traveller/ gypsy families (mostly around Leicester and Birmingham ) But as I'm learning more, things are becoming a bit complicated and I would love some help or input about my Mitchell family.

I don't necessarily think this family are Gypsies ( their occupations suggest not, but the jobs listed are all taken from census forms from 1841 onwards ). I don't know what they did before 1841 for work, but they certainly seemed to travel about alot, judging by where their children were baptised. They finally settled in Haydons Yard, Brittannia Street, St Margarets, Leicester around 1838/9.

So I can't work out if they were travellers, or if perhaps Charles was in the army and they followed him about, or if they just moved about for work. I hope someone here might have a better idea than me. I've got them listed below :-

Charles Mitchell - Head - Born around 1802 - Kibworth or kilworth, Leicestershire - FWK
Isabella Mitchell - Wife - Born abt 1801 - Selkirk, Scotland - Stocking Seamer
James Mitchell - Son - Born abt 1821 - Ireland - FWK
Charles Mitchell - Son - Born 1823- St Marys Leicester - FWK ( but was in the Civil Guard in 1861)
John Mitchell - Son - born 1827 - Kibworth, leicestershire - Stocking weaver
Susannah Mitchell - Dau - born 1832 -  Bruntingthorpe, Leicestershire -
Robert Mitchell - Son - born 1833 -  Edinburgh, Scotland - Dyer /Trimmer
Joseph Mitchell - Son - born 1835 - Hawick, Scotland - FWK