Author Topic: FindMyPast Software Integration  (Read 7140 times)

Offline Robert Fletcher

• RootsChat Veteran
  • And he's still just as cute!
    • View Profile
FindMyPast Software Integration
« on: Friday 12 June 15 11:17 BST (UK) »
Hi there, I have been using Family Tree Maker for many years and one of the great features it has is the integration with Ancestry. But for the online resources I prefer FindMyPast so what I am looking for is some software that will integrate with FindMyPast that like FMT will show hints and download records.

I see that RootsMagic is being made as an offer on FindMyPast but I can't see anywhere where this program can be integrated. I downloaded the free trial version and the only thing I can see it will do is integrate with FamilySearch. So just in case I've got something wrong can someone put me right otherwise is there some other software I should look at that will do what I wanted to do.

I guess the other thing I could do is to use the online program but I don't like all this working in the cloud.

Robert….
BELL - Nottingham
FISHER – Hinckley Leics
FLETCHER – Louth (District), Lincolnshire
HALLETT - Grimsby Lincs
MINKLEY - Notts & Leics

Offline MJW

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: FindMyPast Software Integration
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 17 June 15 20:03 BST (UK) »
I'm only an occasional FindMyPast user but I'm not aware it has tight integration with any PC-based software.

I've used RootsMagic for 10 years (currently on RM6). It doesn't have any tight integration with FindMyPast or any other research service, except for Family Search.  Have you looked at RM's WebSearch option?  It might go some way towards what you want.  You can use it for searching various websites for a selected person in your database. However, it has no automatic import facility.  You can create & maintain your own set of useful websites you want to search.  I find it useful.