Author Topic: Query about two birth entries  (Read 551 times)

Offline LauraDC

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Query about two birth entries
« on: Monday 30 January 17 20:25 GMT (UK) »
I have just started tracing my family tree and discovered that my paternal grandmother appears to have two entries on Scotland's People.  I have a copy of her birth certificate and was just checking on when I noticed another entry & have now got copies of both entries.  My question is:  Is it possible to have two entries in two different areas of Glasgow and was this a normal occurrence in 1897?  Thanks in advance.

Offline Billyblue

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Query about two birth entries
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 31 January 17 05:24 GMT (UK) »
Hi Laura and welcome to RootsChat

I'm no expert on Scotland records, but many chatters are.  But someone is sure to ask

How are you sure the two entries are for the one person?
Are the dates identical?
Are the parents identical?
If an address is part of the certificate, are they identical?

If the answers to the above are all yes, I'd hazard a guess that mum and dad both registered the birth but at different offices, and nobody picked up the duplication.  Then again, I may be quite wrong!   :)  :)  :)

Dawn M
Denys (France); Rossier/Rousseau (Switzerland); Montgomery (Antrim, IRL & North Sydney NSW);  Finn (Co.Carlow, IRL & NSW); Wilson (Leicestershire & NSW); Blue (Sydney NSW); Fisher & Barrago & Harrington(all Tipperary, IRL)

Offline RJ_Paton

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Cuimhnichibh air na daoine bho'n d'thainig sibh
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 31 January 17 08:26 GMT (UK) »
This was quite normal for that period.