Author Topic: Burial records  (Read 5368 times)

Offline Jemmajane

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Burial records
« on: Saturday 11 February 17 11:52 GMT (UK) »
I am new to this so bear with me. My biological father passed away in 94 at 27, we never met unfortunately. I am looking for a way to find information that may help me find family members. I would like to find his grave if possible. He died on 28/4/1994 of carbon monoxide poisoning, inquest was held on 6/7/1994. His date of birth is 23/1/1967. David Mark Johnston.

Offline zenobia37

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Burial records
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 11 February 17 12:40 GMT (UK) »
Hi, looking at the death index it looks like your father died in the Leeds area. Is that right, and if so do you know where he lived at the time? This might help work out where he was buried - there is a list of local cemeteries on the Leeds City Council website and ways to find check, if there is a location in mind. 

Because he was quite young, you won't find much information on family history websites but as you know his name and date of birth, you could order his birth certificate (and marriage certificate if he was married), either from the office where it was registered or online from the General Register Office website. His birth certifcate will tell you his parents names if you don't know them.

I hope this helps - you could also have a look in local newpapers which are normally kept at the local libraries.

Offline nanny jan

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Russian John
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 11 February 17 12:43 GMT (UK) »
Hi,

Welcome to Rootschat.   :)

There is a birth matching the details you have given in GRO Births Abroad; B.A.O.R in Hanover, Germany.

You can buy a copy of the certificate from GRO using these details:

David Mark Johnston, 23/1/1967, mother Slack, volume F, page 124.