Author Topic: William Burroughs marriage to Ann  (Read 1487 times)

Offline jillruss

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Poppy
    • View Profile
William Burroughs marriage to Ann
« on: Friday 22 September 17 18:59 BST (UK) »
I am new to Gloucestershire research so would appreciate some help.

One of my brickwalls for a number of years has been the marriage of James May of Speen near Newbury, Berks to Hannah Burroughs or Barron on 6 Dec 1720 in Speen. There is a marriage Bond which unhelpfully gives the 'either or' for Hannah's surname, and also gives James' residence as Speen and Hannah's as Wick Ham. I have always thought this referred to Wickham near Newbury but have never been able to find her baptism.

Now, I have almost accidentally come across on FindMyPast a Hannah Burroughs baptised in 1694 in CHILDSWICKHAM, Gloucestershire, daughter of William and Ann. Its about 30 miles from Speen so perhaps unlikely, but not impossible. Perhaps whoever wrote out the marriage bond had no idea about Childswickham and just associated it to nearby Wickham. or perhaps I'm clutching at straws!!??

I found another daughter baptised in Childswickham to William and Ann: Ann in 1698, but no others.

In an attempt to find out more, I looked for a marriage for William and Ann but couldn't find one. I also wondered if he might have left a will.

Can anyone throw any light? Are Gloucerstershire PRs and wills available online or do I need to plead for a look up?

Jill
HELP!!!

BATHSHEBA BOOTHROYD bn c. 1802 W. Yorks.

Baptism nowhere to be found. Possibly in a nonconformist church near ALMONDBURY or HUDDERSFIELD.

Offline emeltom

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: William Burroughs marriage to Ann
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 23 September 17 09:40 BST (UK) »