Author Topic: SUTHERLAND family name  (Read 2476 times)

Offline DebsE

• RootsChat Extra
  • Tracing back from New Zealand to the British Isles
    • View Profile
SUTHERLAND family name
« on: Wednesday 10 August 05 02:40 BST (UK) »
Hi all,

I would love to hear from anyone who may be researching the SUTHERLAND family name in Clakmannanshire or anyone else who may be able to help me with any suggestions on how to proceed with my search. This is my first foray into Scottish genealogy and I'm still learning the ropes.

The only real information I have about my Sutherland line in Scotland comes from the IGI record for the birth of my 3x great grandfather, Alexander. The information reads:

Alexander William SUTHERLAND 
Christened on 30 Dec 1800 in Alloa, Clackmannon, Scotland.
Parents: Arthur Alexander (or Alexander Arthur) Sutherland and Janet Bailie.

This is as far back as my information goes. According to some early NZ military files, Alex enlisted in the military as a blacksmith at Glasgow on 22 September 1817 aged 18 years. He served in Egypt, Majorca, Gibralter and Malta for 24 years before marrying an Irish lass and emigrating to New Zealand. Other than this, I know nothing of his life or his parents back in Scotland.

I'd love to find out more about my Scottish heritage. If anyone has any information or suggestions I'd love to hear from you.

Kind regards,

Debra
New Zealand
WRY Yorkshire - EMMETT, EMMOTT, VICKERS
Lancashire - VICKERS
Essex - SMYTH, WHITE
Germany & London - ZIMMERMAN, BRUNS
Somerset - WARD
Devon - DOIDGE
Cornwall - HANCOCK
Scotland - SUTHERLAND, MATHEW, MORTIMER
Ireland - NOLAN, WILLIAMSON, McPIKE, CROSKERY, MOORE, GALVIN, GALLAVAN, FITZGERALD

Offline Kate NZ

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: SUTHERLAND family name
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 24 August 05 04:12 BST (UK) »