Author Topic: Dna result - No Viking  (Read 1025 times)

Offline sirsimon

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Dna result - No Viking
« on: Sunday 03 May 20 19:48 BST (UK) »
Hello

I recently got my dna test results. It came back 83% england/wales/nw europe and 17% ireland/scottish

These results are not surprising and line up with my research

What surprised and disappointed me a little was that there was 0% scandanavian or germanic dna

According to the results i dont have any viking or saxon ancestry or any blood from outside Britain

My question is: is this rare or unusual? I thought nearly every briton had some norse blood of some kind

Most of my closest dna matches have some scandanavian origin, so why dont I?

My thanks i am new to dna testing

Offline Liz_in_Sussex

• RootsChat Veteran
  • "We wunt be druv."
    • View Profile
Re: Dna result - No Viking
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 03 May 20 21:33 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I'm sure someone will be along with a much more scientific answer than me - but from experience - no, I don't think it is unusual.

I have my DNA results on 2 different sites:
A - I am 80% British, 14% Swedish and 6% Germanic.
B - I am 100% British.

My mother and her brother had their DNA tested on site B - both are almost 100% Swedish and a bit of Danish/German (If I remember correctly those were in the same block) and NO British.

My Dad is fairly consistently over 3 tests 74% British and 26% North European. His Living DNA test was the most interesting because it matched entirely the regions we knew he had ancestors from - leaving us with a fairly big clue as to where to look for the illegitimate line.