Author Topic: significance of "7 years on board a King's ship"  (Read 735 times)

Offline LouisaHills

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
significance of "7 years on board a King's ship"
« on: Saturday 11 July 20 21:33 BST (UK) »
One of my ancestors, Edward Edwin Blythe was convicted of felony in 1832, and the conviction record mentions "about 7 years on board a king's ship" in the description of him. Does anyone know what this might refer to? Neither Ancestry nor Findmypast list any military records for him, and for most of his life he was a baker by trade. Between his numerous court appearances, the only gap long enough to be relevant is between 1821, when he went bankrupt in Liverpool, and 1827, when he was living in London and had his trousers stolen. There don't seem to have been any particular naval engagements at that time for which he could have been press-ganged. Can anyone suggest anywhere that I could look for further information? Many thanks.

Offline Jebber

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: significance of "7 years on board a King's ship"
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 11 July 20 21:37 BST (UK) »
Perhaps as a result of his conviction he had to serve his sentence on a prison  hulk.
CHOULES All ,  COKER Harwich Essex & Rochester Kent 
COLE Gt. Oakley, & Lt. Oakley, Essex.
DUNCAN Kent
EVERITT Colchester,  Dovercourt & Harwich Essex
GULLIVER/GULLOFER Fifehead Magdalen Dorset
HORSCROFT Kent.
KING Sturminster Newton, Dorset. MONK Odiham Ham.
SCOTT Wrabness, Essex
WILKINS Stour Provost, Dorset.
WICKHAM All in North Essex.
WICKHAM Medway Towns, Kent from 1880
WICKHAM, Ipswich, Suffolk.

Offline stanmapstone

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 11 July 20 21:44 BST (UK) »
Deleted  not him
Stan
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline LouisaHills

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile