Author Topic: Help with paternal grandfather... Alexander Lochrie  (Read 1000 times)

Offline Marc.lochrie

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Help with paternal grandfather... Alexander Lochrie
« on: Sunday 16 August 20 19:52 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I’m new to this, so apologies if I’m not doing something correctly, or if this is in the wrong place. I’ve been researching my family tree for some time now, and have managed to get many generations back, but always end up fixating on my paternal grandfather Alexander Lochrie. He lived in Muirkirk and died in 1941. His full name was Alexander Watson Lochrie. He died when my dad was fairly young and he doesn’t remember much about him. I know it’s a long shot, but wondered if there’s anyone on here who knows anything about him, or even the lochrie family in Muirkirk. I feel like I have all the documents etc to ID people and link everyone up but would love to know more about them.

Probably a ridiculous ask, but worth a try...

Offline DonM

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Help with paternal grandfather... Alexander Lochrie
« Reply #1 on: Monday 17 August 20 11:34 BST (UK) »
Greetings,

That's a tough one since almost 80 years since his death its pretty hard to find his bud's, or what was his favorite pub or football team.  Did you try the library and local papers from pre 1940? 

Don
I have turned off all email notifications, thank you.

Offline Wendy2305

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 17 August 20 12:32 BST (UK) »
If you go to Scotlands People website you will be able to download your grandparents wedding this will give you their age and names of parents including mothers maiden name you will be able to search for their marriage and your grandfathers birth

Offline Forfarian

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • http://www.rootschat.com/links/01ruz/
    • View Profile