Author Topic: Paternal GGrandfather Brick Wall - DNA Testing Advice Please  (Read 431 times)

Offline Montycat

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Paternal GGrandfather Brick Wall - DNA Testing Advice Please
« on: Monday 28 September 20 11:48 BST (UK) »
Hello

This is my first post on RC so please be gentle with me!

I am a genealogy beginner and have started a tree on Ancestry.

I have also undergone a DNA test (a gift) via 23andMe (also uploaded elsewhere) and have made contact with a few lovely people, mostly on my mother's side.

The brick wall is on my paternal grandfather's side.  His father was unknown.  Our surname was my great grandmother's maiden surname. 

My great grandmother was born in 1894 in Ayrshire, Scotland.  She had 6 children. They appear to have 3 different middle names between them – names which I haven’t found elsewhere in our family tree as yet.  One of her daughters had a different surname – I found her father as he is named on the register.  He sadly died in WW1 a few years before my grandfather was born.  His surname is one of the other children’s middle name.

My great grandmother never married and died in 1939.

Her last two children were boys, one of whom sadly died aged one (I am ordering his birth certificate).  The other one was my grandfather.  Both boys were given the same middle name.  My grandfather’s birth certificate showed no details for the father. I have done a little sleuthing in the 1911 census to see whether there was a local family by this name and have found one, but this, of course, doesn't really tell me anything and also the middle name might not necessarily be the father's surname anyway.

I recall I did also check whether any claim had been made with regards to paternity, but could not find anything.

(I also found during my sleuthing that the family I mentioned above was related to the family of the young soldier who died in WW1).