Author Topic: Is it worth getting autosomal DNA test for myself in addition to my parents?  (Read 395 times)

Offline hllawson

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Hi I'm fairly new to Geneology etc.

Have been using Ancestry.co.uk and my mum previously had an account which she used to link her and my fathers DNA to. I now have access to this and have linked it to my own account and tree and have started using her matches to help check my hypthoses based on paper records, with some good results.

What I have been trying to work out from reading about the DNA testing, but can't find a clear answer is: Would there be any benefit to me also paying for one of the ancestry tests for myself, or is this likely to yield the same, and even less matches than those I already have from my parent tests?

Many thanks,
Hannah

Offline Mike in Cumbria

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Is it worth getting autosomal DNA test for myself in addition to my parents?
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 08 October 20 14:29 BST (UK) »
I don't think there'd be any advantage - you've already got all the links through your parents.

Offline hllawson

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Is it worth getting autosomal DNA test for myself in addition to my parents?
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 08 October 20 15:56 BST (UK) »
Thanks, this is what I thought based on my limited understanding of them. Good to have a second opinion.

Offline brigidmac

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Computer incompetent but stiil trying
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Thursday 08 October 20 16:24 BST (UK) »
It depends how far you want to go back occasionally I have a match which does not show for my mother or paternal aunt also level of matches may show that someone you thought was her 4tb cousin is actually your fourth cousin and her third cousin .

If you are looking to identify unknown matches