Author Topic: How did Henry Whiteside die?  (Read 481 times)

Offline oz diva

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
How did Henry Whiteside die?
« on: Sunday 21 February 21 03:23 GMT (UK) »
Hello Newbie here.

I am interested finding out how my great great grandparents died.

They were Henry Whiteside and Margaret Cuff. They lived in County Mayo and left there in the late 1840s to live in Glasgow. The 1851 census has them residing in World's End Finnieston in Glasgow. Shortly after that they both died, from what I do not know. Their son and two daughters were sent to the Sligo (Ireland) Workhouse and later were sent to their uncle in Sydney.

The problem I am having is that they were born and married in Ireland but died in Scotland and of course the pandemic is not helping.

Where to next?

Offline ev

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Drumkilbo
    • View Profile
Re: How did Henry Whiteside die?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 21 February 21 08:36 GMT (UK) »
Census information Crown copyright , All Census information from transcriptions - check original records , Familysearch/IGI is a finding tool only - check original records

Offline oz diva

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 21 February 21 09:06 GMT (UK) »
Wow that's amazing, thank you. That's them, I see they have an extra daughter, Sarah. I don't know what happened to her, she didn't make it to Australia. Maybe she died in the Workhouse? Thank you once again.

Also interesting that Henry is listed as an excavator, on a death certificate he's listed as a shipwright. I would imagine excavator is pretty low paid and hard work. their mother Margaret could have died in childbirth I suppose.

Offline ev

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Drumkilbo
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sunday 21 February 21 09:16 GMT (UK) »