Author Topic: Emigrants to the British West Indies  (Read 2143 times)

Offline lvninthepast

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Emigrants to the British West Indies
« on: Tuesday 30 August 05 18:10 BST (UK) »
Hello  :)

I am very new to rootschat.  I was hoping that someone here might have some information regarding individuals whom left Great Britain for the West Indies (specifically Jamaica) in the early 19th century.  My gr gr gr grandfather J. Barnet(t) was born in Jamaica in 1832 (approx.).  This information was indicated on the census returns in Canada (Ontario) and his death notice; however, there is no other reference to his parents, etc.

I have been stuck here at this point for almost three years now and would really appreciate any type of assistance/guidance for researching this individual.

The family "story" goes that my gr. gr. gr. grandfather's father was a missionary who travelled to Jamaica.  Apparently the family was evacuated around 1850 to Canada (Nova Scotia), but enroute both parents died and the children were divided among different Canadian families once the ship arrived. 

I have not discovered any concrete evidence of this.

My gr. gr. gr. grandfather's first son was born in Quebec; however, the remaining children and census returns indicate Ontario residents, right up until today.

Many thanks to any who assist.
Truly,
Rhondda
Green (Glamorgan)<br />Hunt (Taff Well, Pontypridd, Bethnal Green)<br />Pugsley (Bristol) Aston (Pontycymmer)<br />Winn,<br />Springer<br />Spearing<br />Barnett<br />Hickey<br />McCann<br />Broadbent (Oldham)<br />Census information for  U.K. data is Crown Copyright www.nationalarchives.gov.uk<br />Canadian census information: copyright Government of Canada (Library  Archives Canada) <br />Every reasonable effort has been made to verify copyright/source information

Offline corinne

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: Emigrants to the British West Indies