Author Topic: double baptism  (Read 1365 times)

Offline hdw

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
double baptism
« on: Thursday 30 September 21 20:10 BST (UK) »
I have seen instances in the OPRs of a child's birth being registered in one parish, then the baptism takes place in a different parish. But my ancestor William Anderson, born in 1740 in Dysart, was baptised there on 30th November and then baptised again in Abbotshall, Kirkcaldy, on 7th December. It's definitely baptisms both times.

I'm no expert on the Church of Scotland, though I was brought up in it, but I thought a baptism was once and for all and couldn't be repeated.

Harry

Offline GR2

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: double baptism
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 30 September 21 20:18 BST (UK) »
There would only be one baptism. I have some instances of children being baptised in a neighbouring parish because the minister of the parish where the family lived was seriously ill or absent. In most cases the baptism was recorded in the "home" parish, but in one instance it was recorded in both and with inconsistent dates. Maybe this is similar to your case.

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 30 September 21 20:21 BST (UK) »
Not sure about this particular case or common practice in Scotland at that time but my great-grandmother & most of her siblings in Ulster were entered twice in the church register (slightly different dates for each set of baptisms)- and it didn't just happen to this family. In their case the answer is probably quite simple. In those days the children were probably baptised at home when the minister was making visitations and the clergyman probably either made a note of the date & child's name or just recorded the details from memory at a later date. 
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!