Author Topic: DNA link from the late 1600s? Mumford  (Read 1128 times)

Online Lisa in California

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
DNA link from the late 1600s? Mumford
« on: Sunday 07 November 21 08:25 GMT (UK) »
I have a subscription to Anc*.  Last year, I checked my DNA matches (the six photo matches that appear when you open the DNA results), then checked my husband’s DNA matches. I was very surprised to see one of my results in my husband’s matches!  I assumed it was a glitch with Anc* as I am Canadian, my husband is American and our ancestors lived in different parts of England and Ireland.

A few months ago, I was bored and thought it would be humourous to search his DNA results for one of my more unusual surnames - Mumford (from my paternal line). Much to my surprise, he had more Mumford DNA results than I did!  A Mary Mumford, born in Virginia, USA in 1683 shows up in both of our matches. I have yet to find out if he is a descendant of a Mumford or if he is distantly related to his matches through a different surname.  However, he also has at least one match with someone who has a tree with “my” ancestors in it - Mumfords from Essex, England, 1800s.

A few weeks ago, just to see what would happen, I searched my mum’s DNA results for Mumford.  One of her matches is with someone who has the Mary Mumford mentioned above! I can understand how my husband might have Mumford ancestors or have matches to people who have Mumford ancestors as there is a good possibility that some of his ancestors were in America since at least 1700. I am puzzled about my mum’s results — perhaps her links are coincidence or through other surnames.

Is the above unusual or might it happen more than one would think (finding out husband and wife might be very distantly related and there is a possibility that a third person could also be related)?