Author Topic: Roman Catholic Children's Homes nr Clydebank in 1922  (Read 249 times)

Offline junipero

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Roman Catholic Children's Homes nr Clydebank in 1922
« on: Thursday 29 September 22 20:43 BST (UK) »
Hello everyone.

This is my first post here  :) I'm relatively new to researching my family tree although I have been interested in it for some time.

My paternal grandfather and maternal grandmother were both fostered as babies (both now deceased). I have been successful in discovering my maternal grandmother's family using Ancestry and have managed to speak to a cousin and get photos of family we've never seen. It has been amazing.

I am struggling somewhat on my grandfather's side. I know his mother's name but the father is unknown, although we suspect the surname of his father could be his middle name. They were unmarried and apparently his mum was Catholic and his father Protestant.

He was seemingly placed "in a convent" as a baby and I have been trying to find records of him in children's homes at the time. I've been in touch with Smyllum Orphanage but they have no record of him, nor do any of the Nazareth Houses.

He was born in Clyde Street, Old Kilpatrick in 1922.

I looked at old maps to look for any churches in that area but drew a blank on Roman Catholic ones and then got myself tied in knots about what I was doing  ;D I had thought I could contact a nearby church for their advice. I think St Patrick's may have been one I was going to contact.

Can anyone provide me with suggestions?