Author Topic: Michael Kelly born 1842 Ballymitty, Wexford  (Read 498 times)

Offline rvale

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Michael Kelly born 1842 Ballymitty, Wexford
« on: Saturday 15 October 22 17:57 BST (UK) »
I have been tracing my family tree for over 20 years and every time I try to find out more about my great grandfather Michael Kelly I fail. He joined the army in Liverpool in 1860 into the 98th Regiment of Foot I have his service records. He stated his age at the time of joining as 18, no actual date of birth given. I can find nothing about him in Ballymitty and of course there are many Michael Kellys. When he left the army in 1881 he settled in Durham, I have all that information only his previous life in Ireland. Anyone who can help or point me in the right direction I would be very grateful.

Rosemary
Shillito West Yorkshire
Kelly, Wexford
Farrish, Dumfries

Offline athacliath62

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: Michael Kelly born 1842 Ballymitty, Wexford
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 15 October 22 18:04 BST (UK) »
If he was Catholic then then his parish was possibly Bannow, baptism records are on the National library website : https://registers.nli.ie/parishes/0579

do you have his father's name and occupation from his marriage cert ?
there are many Kelly families so you need all the clues you can get, also worth checking the witnesses on the marriage so see if possible sibling or other relation

btw - ages are not always accurate, so try a few years either side of the date you have

Offline rvale

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 15 October 22 18:11 BST (UK) »
Thank you for your reply.  His father's name was James and a General labourer on the marriage certificate, also the year of birth seems right as he was 35 when they married in 1877.
Shillito West Yorkshire
Kelly, Wexford
Farrish, Dumfries

Offline athacliath62

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile