Author Topic: I'm probably being thick! FindMyPast disappointment  (Read 2041 times)

Offline teragram31510

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
I'm probably being thick! FindMyPast disappointment
« on: Saturday 29 October 22 18:18 BST (UK) »
I've been researching my maternal side since 2009, quite successfully. I have used all the free online databases, national archives for wills and other documents and joined TheGenealogist for a good year. Yesterday, because I want to tie up some loose ends - and I had seen on FamilySearch that "images" of various BMDs are available on FindMyPast, I took out a three month subscription to the latter site (I've already used it frequently as a signed-in "visitor").

My first search was to see the actual record of the baptism in 1767 (18th October, born 7th August) of Simon Joseph Pool(e), my 3xggrandfather's younger brother (and a twin to Mary). He was baptised in Seavington St Michael and his baptism record is usually transcribed as "Simon" though my 3xggrandfather, baptised 2 years earlier was Simeon ! As you can see the child of 1767 was also Joseph  (which name he used when he was married in Chillington in 1800).

So, I just wanted to see for myself that his baptism record called him Simon, or perhaps Simon Joseph (parents Thomas and Honor)  - the vicar's mistake perhaps because there was a 2-year old running around called Simeon!

But the "image" on FindMyPast is only the transcription and I'm disappointed - unless I'm missing something...

Can anyone clarify for me?
Somerset: Poole, Hutchings/Hutchin(s), Harvey/Harvie, Bullen

Online QueenoftheWest

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: I'm probably being thick! FindMyPast disappointment
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 29 October 22 18:27 BST (UK) »
Hi,

Sorry to disappoint you, but Ancestry is the site that has the digitised Somerset parish registers.