Author Topic: William Lewis and Ann Davies : parish records?  (Read 1533 times)

Offline ccmmgr

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
William Lewis and Ann Davies : parish records?
« on: Tuesday 22 November 22 23:08 GMT (UK) »
This is my first time working with Cardiff / Glamorganshire records and I'm not coming up with much in terms of parish records for the above couple.

William LEWIS b. abt 1844 and always enumerated as a coal trimmer from St Mellons - can't find him definitively prior to marriage, was hoping for clues in parish record

Ann Davies - going to be a bit of a needle in a haystack without clues from parish marriage.

I was hoping to at least find parents' names or professions, perhaps witnesses that would give a clue - the usual.

They were married 4th QTR 1868, Cardiff, Glamorganshire
Volume 11A Marriage quarter 4 Volume as transcribed 11A Marriage year 1868 Page number 337

Haven't found any parish records for the children, either - all born Cardiff / Roath:

Ann E Lewis b. 1869
Mary C Lewis b. 1872
William Lewis b.1874
David Lewis b. 1876
Gertrude Lewis b. 1878
Edward Lewis b.1880
Naomi Lewis b.1882

Any tips appreciated! I imagine there's some context about these records of which I'm unaware.

Online CaroleW

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Barney 1993-2004
    • View Profile
Re: William Lewis and Ann Davies : parish records?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 22 November 22 23:18 GMT (UK) »
Unless the marriage cert is online you need to buy a copy to get their respective fathers names

Not all children were baptised.  Not all baptismal records are online.  Have you tried www.familysearch.org

Interestingly - St Mellons is shown as in Monmouthshire but the registration district was Cardiff

https://www.ukbmd.org.uk/reg/districts/cardiff.html
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk