Author Topic: Why did an 1890s Coldstream Guardsman not marry the mother of his 3 children?  (Read 3916 times)

Offline ARBELLA

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
   Hello! I'm a published writer working on a book. RootsChat helped hugely in 2021- thank you! I wonder if your military experts might throw light on the story of my Great-Aunt Ada Ellen Powell- who apparently never married John Perkins, the 1890s Coldstream Guardsman who was the father of her first 3 children? 
   Ada Ellen Powell was born in 1873 at Hednesford,Staffs, daughter of Elizabeth & John Powell, a gamekeeper. John Perkins was born in 1869 at Wacton, nr Bredenbury, Herefordshire, son of a labourer. In the 1891 Census, John is a 'Single'  Private, 1st Battalion Coldstream Guards, Chelsea Barracks.
    Quick queries, please.. Was this a prestigious regiment? Would a Private who enlisted in 1890 have a choice of regiment? Or would he just be allocated to one? If so, did this depend on regiment numbers, or on the recruit’s ownl qualities? 
   I believe, in the 1890s, only a few soldiers per regiment were given permission by the Army to marry & have wives 'on the strength'? Was a Coldstream Guards Private, married without permission in the 1890s, likely to suffer penalties from the Army? 
    I’ve found no marriage record for Ada & John. On 2 April 1896, Ada registered the birth of her son Albert John Perkins, born on 18 Feb 1896. Father: John Perkins, 'Private Soldier in Coldstream Guards'. Her address: Bowmans Hill, Winslow, 3 miles from John's birthplace. She called herself 'Ada Ellen Perkins, formerly Powell'. Is this a standard description of a wife? This formula appeared on every certificate for her first 3 children.