Author Topic: Looking for Information on a Robert Oxberry (Oxburry) from 1757  (Read 292 times)

Offline PaulJ56

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Looking for Information on a Robert Oxberry (Oxburry) from 1757
« on: Saturday 21 January 23 14:48 GMT (UK) »
We have traced my wife's family back to a Robert Oxberry (Oxburry) of Burslem, Staffs who came up to Durham county sometime in the later 1700's. He married Elizabeth Dobson of Woodhorn in 1782 at Heworth, Jarrow. His origins information was included as part of the baptismal record of his son George Oxberry in 1803 (attached).
Suggestions are he was born around 1757 and was by trade a potter.

Online goldie61

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Looking for Information on a Robert Oxberry (Oxburry) from 1757
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 21 January 23 21:34 GMT (UK) »
We have traced my wife's family back to a Robert Oxberry (Oxburry) of Burslem, Staffs who came up to Durham county sometime in the later 1700's. He married Elizabeth Dobson of Woodhorn in 1782 at Heworth, Jarrow. His origins information was included as part of the baptismal record of his son George Oxberry in 1803 (attached).
Suggestions are he was born around 1757 and was by trade a potter.

Welcome to Rootschat Paul!
And well done for working out how to attach an image on your very first post!
(Many people find this quite challenging to start with).

You haven't actually specified what it is you would like help with, or what avenues you have already tried - just so those trying to help you don't go over the same ground fruitlessly.
Lane, Burgess: Cheshire. Finney, Rogers, Gilman:Derbys
Cochran, Nicol, Paton, Bruce:Scotland. Bertolle:London
Bainbridge, Christman, Jeffs: Staffs

Online ciderdrinker

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 23 January 23 11:54 GMT (UK) »
Hi
Not got a lot I'm afraid
Robert born 1757 buried 26.4.1828 Bellingham