Author Topic: Portrait of an illustrious officer  (Read 614 times)

Offline artlover123

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Portrait of an illustrious officer
« on: Monday 06 February 23 11:41 GMT (UK) »
I am at rather a loose end and hoped whether you or a colleague of your might point me in the right direction.

I have a portrait by George Henry RA RSA RSW (1858-1943). I have attached images to this email. The subject is an army officer and I wondered whether you might tell or help me work out who it is please. It would be such a delight to put a name to clearly quite an illustrious face.

I am no expert on army insignia but this is what I can work out, he wears a monocle, is shown wearing service dress and probably dates from 1935 or shortly afterwards as the last but one medal ribbon he wears is for the Jubilee of King George V & Queen Mary in 1935? The sitter wears medal ribbons for: Order of the Bath, Order of the Indian Empire, Queen’s South Africa Medal, 1914-15 Star, British War Medal, Victory Medal, Delhi Durbar or Coronation 1911 [both used the same ribbon], Jubilee 1935, Territorial Decoration. The collar badges are not clear but the general shape suggests they could be the Queen’s Own Royal Glasgow Yeomanry which would fit well with the artists area of work.

Please, any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Joshua

Offline artlover123

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Portrait of an illustrious officer
« Reply #1 on: Monday 06 February 23 11:44 GMT (UK) »
Close up

Offline ShaunJ

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 06 February 23 14:44 GMT (UK) »
1938 Army List:
UK Census info. Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline SiGr

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Monday 06 February 23 16:30 GMT (UK) »