Author Topic: Rebeecca Lovege [or Lovedge]  (Read 418 times)

Offline MattD30

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Rebeecca Lovege [or Lovedge]
« on: Friday 10 February 23 20:32 GMT (UK) »
This is a long shot but I am hoping someone may be able to point me towards a christening for this lady.

Rebecca Lovege married Francis Page at Newbury on 12 June 1690. Both Francis and Rebecca were described as "of Newbury" but I can't find any record of a Rebecca Lovege in the area or other parishes. Francis was born in Newbury in 1669 and was an innholder by trade.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Many thanks everyone.
Matt

Offline QueenoftheWest

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Rebeecca Lovege [or Lovedge]
« Reply #1 on: Friday 10 February 23 22:17 GMT (UK) »
I also cannot find an obvious baptism for this lady, so I'm going to take a "think outside the box" approach.

When looking at the names of the couple's parents, I like first to look at the names of their children, as many couples (albeit, not all) followed traditional naming patterns. However, I cannot view an image of the parish register and I can only find transcriptions for 2 children:

- Francis (1691)
- William (1705)

There were obviously children born in between, including 2 daughters, whose husbands are mentioned in Francis' will. For others, here is a link to a free copy of Francis' will:
https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/details/r/D630364

Can see a mention of Francis (1691) in there, but did not see any other sons (having said that, it is rather long and I only skimmed it).

I then went about finding others who lived in Newbury and shared Rebecca's uncommon surname. I then found this marriage:
Robert Lovadge married Rebecca Ratcliffe on 24th August 1670 at St Nicholas, Newbury, by banns.

Searching for their children, I again found large gaps:
- Robert (exact year of baptism unknown, but between 1660-99)
- James (1676)