Author Topic: Can anyone help me identify which of the forces my grandad was in?  (Read 677 times)

Offline zoehutson

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Can anyone help me identify which of the forces my grandad was in?
« on: Friday 28 April 23 15:21 BST (UK) »
Hi there,

It's my first time posting on here, so apologies if I'm not very good, but I was wondering if anyone would be able to help me identify which of the forces my grandad was in and where he may have been based etc? My dad has a memory of him returning home after the war, also the 1939 census does not have him at home with his wife and children, which leads me to believe he was away.

I have a picture of him in uniform, but my dad also thinks he may have been in the Grenadier Guards, or possibly a Coldstream Guard (because of the buttons). I can't find any service records for him anywhere. I also don't have a death certificate for him, which means I can't apply for his records yet.

Any help would be gratefully received!

Offline Andy J2022

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Can anyone help me identify which of the forces my grandad was in?
« Reply #1 on: Friday 28 April 23 21:17 BST (UK) »
Hi Zoe

Welcome to the forum.

The Grenadiers and Coldstream both had shoulder titles with white lettering on a red background so it's not clear from the photo which he might have been. The only difference is that the Coldstream used sanserif lettering, whereas the Grenadiers used letters with serifs. Unfortunately the photo isn't clear enough to show that sort of detail. If you have the original photo rather than the scan, try checking it with a magnifying glass.