Author Topic: Might "Tyn Llwyni" and "Tyddyn LLwyni" refer to the same place?  (Read 282 times)

Offline edianter

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Might "Tyn Llwyni" and "Tyddyn LLwyni" refer to the same place?
« on: Thursday 18 May 23 15:45 BST (UK) »
TL;DR: Is it likely that "tyn" and "tyddyn" might have been interchanged when recording place names?

I recently received a copy of my ancestor Elizabeth Grace Parry's birth record from the General Register Office, and it lists her birthplace as "Tynllwyni, Llanbeblig" in 1873. Her father, Joseph Parry, is listed as a "husbandman" (non-landowning farmer) by profession.

I have now searched every map and resource I can find, and I carefully examined every page of both the 1871 and 1881 Llanbeblig Censuses, looking for an address or place name that matches "Tynllwyni" (also Ty'n Llwyni, Ty'n Llwyn, and Tynllwyn)--and I have had absolutely no luck.

HOWEVER, there is a farm by the name of "Tyddyn Llwyni" to the southeast of Carnarvon (south of Caeathro), which appears in the Llanbeblig Censuses and maps.

(Link to map: https://historicplacenames.rcahmw.gov.uk/placenames/recordedname/970ac1d1-5cdc-4ab2-82f3-21df46fec1ff)

Is it possible that this is the same place the birth record was referring to? I'm not very familiar with the Welsh language--how likely is it that "tyn" and "tyddyn" might be interchanged when recording place names?

To make matters even more confusing, the family occupying the "Tyddyn Llwyni" farm in the 1881 Census is an almost-exact-match for the family members I'm looking for. Elizabeth's parents have the correct names and approximate ages, but Elizabeth is listed as "Elizabeth Jane," not "Elizabeth Grace."