Author Topic: Dubois family help - late 17/18thC  (Read 255 times)

Offline SamuelF992

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Dubois family help - late 17/18thC
« on: Thursday 24 August 23 15:22 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone,

Following on from this thread, I am trying to discover more about the Dubois family, who I believe possibly lived in Ireland during the late 1700s and earlier.

https://www.rootschat.com/forum/index.php?topic=875841.0

As stated in the thread, Francis was a Sergeant in the 18th Light Dragoons, who I believe were raised in Ireland and frequently garrisoned there. At least one of his children (Mary Ann 1808) was born in the country and he married an Irish woman (Susanna Sheridan).

I'm a complete novice regarding Irish genealogy and would be thankful for any resources or information which could help me with this family and indeed the Sheridan family. Obviously the French surname also intrigues me and I can't be sure when Francis's family emigrated to Ireland or if he was French himself.

Best wishes
Samuel
2nd generation - Fawcett, Elsbury, Sanders, Aldridge
3rd - as above, Hutchison, Babb, Enticott, Edwards
4th - as above, Turner, Bater, Marshall, Webb, Chick, Cottey, Tozer, Rowland
5th - as above, Broomfield, Fry, Wood, Clark, Baker, Boyland, Lane, Bryant, Pearce, Carey, Bailey, Freeman, Hill

Offline Sinann

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Dubois family help - late 17/18thC
« Reply #1 on: Friday 25 August 23 18:40 BST (UK) »
I only tried the Dubois surname out.
Use the Church Records there are 20 Dubois results, some may only be as witnesses.
https://www.irishgenealogy.ie/en/
You need to sign in and prove your not a robot but it's a free and safe Government run site.
There are later records on the Civil Records section.

2 early records here http://census.nationalarchives.ie/search/dm/home.jsp
and you might find something in the rest of their database