Author Topic: Sorting out DNA, does this make sense?  (Read 418 times)

Offline Stanwix England

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Hopeless scatterbrain
    • View Profile
Sorting out DNA, does this make sense?
« on: Thursday 14 September 23 20:58 BST (UK) »
Hi all,

I'm very new to sorting out DNA matches. I'm wondering if my line of thinking would be correct here. I really appreciate someone looking over this because I find it all a bit mind bending.

I've been looking for who my 2nd Great Grandfather might have been, as my Great Grandmother was illegitimate, and I've just got in to using DNA to try and work this all out.

Someone came up as a potential 2nd-3rd cousin for me. We’ll call him Bob Wall. Looking at mutual matches, I don’t believe he’s linked to any of my other lines. Ancestry says he's a paternal match, which would be on the side I'm looking for.

Looking at Bob's tree, Bob comes from the Wall family. His Great Grandfather is Simon Wall.

Simon Wall comes from the same geographic area as my 2nd Great Grandmother did, and where my Great Grandmother was born.

Bob and I have another mutual DNA match on Ancestry. Her name, for the purpose of this post, is Mary Kennedy. 

Mary has a small tree attached to her DNA results, which I have been able to see.

Mary is also descended from the Wall family. She is descended from John Wall, brother of Simon Wall. 

The brothers, John and Simon Wall would both be about the right age to have fathered my Great Grandmother, and a similar age as my 2nd Great Grandmother.

John and Simon Wall have another brother as well. I haven't found any descendants of his so far.

While I understand that I can't say which of them is my 2nd Great Grandfather, is it reasonable to suggest that there is a possibility that my 2nd Great Grandfather was of the 'Wall' line and could have been one of these three men, or their father even?